Medical cannabis initiative (2020)
Yes vote: Medical cannabis constitutional amendment. Result: Removed from ballot by Nebraska Supreme Court (Sept. 2020). Measure reference (Ballotpedia)
Support vs. oppose
| Receipts | From organizations | From individuals (aggregate) | Expenditures | In-state | Out-of-state | State not reported | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| support | $1.87M | $1.83M | $40,693 | $476,949 | $1.42M (76%) | $451,191 (24%) | $400 (0%) |
| oppose | No registered oppose committee found in NADC data | ||||||
In-state/out-of-state uses the contributor State reported on each receipt. Legacy (2015–2020) forms report a state only on Form B-1AB; receipts on Forms B-2A/B-4A/B-5 and loans have no state and appear as "not reported".
Money flow
Columns: upstream grantmaker (IRS 990 grants to Nebraska-address organizations in the vote year and the two prior tax years; dashed purple bands) → contributing organization → ballot committee → spending category. Grant links are made by matching organization names between IRS and NADC filings; a grant to an organization is not evidence it paid for this campaign — final use of those grants is undisclosed. Upstream donors to contributing organizations are not disclosed unless shown. Boxes are colored by entity type and bands by data source; hover a box for its type, the basis for that type, and totals in/out, or a band for its source filing. Use the checkboxes to hide types.
* type inferred from the organization name (no FEC, NADC or IRS record matched); hover for the basis.
Receipts over time (by month)
■ NEBRASKANS FOR MEDICAL MARIJUANA (support)
NEBRASKANS FOR MEDICAL MARIJUANA (support; NADC ID 18BQC00475; active 2018, 2019, 2020)
Receipts $1.87M · expenditures $476,949 · 8 contributing organizations · individuals (aggregate) $40,693. Source data
Top contributing organizations
| Organization | Type (as reported to NADC) | State | Years | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HEARTLAND STRATEGY GROUP, LLC | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2020 | $1.32M | NADC legacy dataset |
| SOZO COMPANIES | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | MI | 2020 | $350,000 | NADC legacy dataset |
| MARIJUANA POLICY PROJECT | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2018, 2019, 2020 | $55,142 | NADC legacy dataset |
| AGMED, LLC | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2020 | $50,000 | NADC legacy dataset |
| NEW APPROACH PAC | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2019, 2020 | $39,000 | NADC legacy dataset |
| NEBRASKA FAMILIES 4 MEDICAL CANNABIS (NOW B-4) | Ballot Question Committee | NE | 2020 | $10,000 | NADC legacy dataset |
| BCOM SOLUTIONS LLC | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2019 | $1,200 | NADC legacy dataset |
| DOUGLAS COUNTY DEMOCRATIC PARTY | Political Party Committee | NE | 2019 | $1,000 | NADC legacy dataset |
Spending by category
| Petition circulation | $427,368 |
| Legal, compliance & accounting | $22,500 |
| Other / not itemized by purpose | $15,293 |
| Advertising, media & mail | $9,936 |
| Fees & processing | $1,524 |
| Travel & events | $328 |
Categories are assigned from each expenditure's reported description/purpose by keyword; in-kind contributions received are reported by NADC as expenditures too.
† name also appears as a recipient or filer in the IRS 990 grant data loaded for the Funder networks page (organization-name match, not an identifier match).