Initiative 439: right to abortion until fetal viability
Yes vote: Establish a right to abortion until fetal viability. Result: Rejected. Measure reference (Ballotpedia)
Support vs. oppose
| Receipts | From organizations | From individuals (aggregate) | Expenditures | In-state | Out-of-state | State not reported | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| support | $14.09M | $11.16M | $2.93M | $22.86M | $6.55M (46%) | $7.54M (54%) | $0 (0%) |
| oppose | No registered oppose committee found in NADC data | ||||||
In-state/out-of-state uses the contributor State reported on each receipt. Legacy (2015–2020) forms report a state only on Form B-1AB; receipts on Forms B-2A/B-4A/B-5 and loans have no state and appear as "not reported".
Money flow
Columns: upstream grantmaker (IRS 990 grants to Nebraska-address organizations in the vote year and the two prior tax years; dashed purple bands) → contributing organization → ballot committee → spending category. Grant links are made by matching organization names between IRS and NADC filings; a grant to an organization is not evidence it paid for this campaign — final use of those grants is undisclosed. Upstream donors to contributing organizations are not disclosed unless shown. Boxes are colored by entity type and bands by data source; hover a box for its type, the basis for that type, and totals in/out, or a band for its source filing. Use the checkboxes to hide types.
Receipts over time (by month)
■ PROTECT OUR RIGHTS (support)
PROTECT OUR RIGHTS (support; NADC ID 8988; active 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026)
Receipts $14.09M · expenditures $22.86M · 31 contributing organizations · individuals (aggregate) $2.93M. Source data
Top contributing organizations
| Organization | Type (as reported to NADC) | State | Years | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| THE FAIRNESS PROJECT | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $1.79M | NADC campaign finance extract |
| PLANNED PARENTHOOD ADVOCATES OF NEBRASKA | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $1.61M | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEW VENTURE FUND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2024 | $1.51M | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HOPEWELL FUND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2024 | $1.35M | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ACLU NEBRASKA INC † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $904,904 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA APPLESEED ACTION FUND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $899,633 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| SECOND HOUSE COLLABORATIVE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $570,874 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| JOHN YOAKUM FOR NRD | Candidate Committee | NE | 2024, 2025, 2026 | $424,868 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| THINK BIG AMERICA | Federal PAC | IL | 2024 | $400,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| WOMEN'S FUND OF OMAHA † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $368,989 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| PLANNED PARENTHOOD ACTION FUND | Federal PAC | DC | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $274,036 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| BLACK IN ACTION COLLECTIVE | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024, 2025 | $271,082 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| MCDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | MA | 2024 | $267,432 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ARNOLD & PORTER'S | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2024 | $160,834 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA CIVIC ENGAGEMENT TABLE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $109,287 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| I BE BLACK GIRL † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $82,251 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA APPLESEED | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $50,611 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| REPRODUCTIVE FREEDOM FOR ALL | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2024 | $50,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ACLU NEBRASKA † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024, 2025 | $25,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ADEE PADDOCK LIVING TRUST | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | CA | 2024 | $10,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| BALLOT INITIATIVE STRATEGY CENTER (BISC) | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2023, 2024 | $9,874 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA ABORTION RESOURCES † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $6,884 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| KOENIG DUNNE | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $5,491 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| FREEDOM FROM RELIGION FOUNDATION | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | WI | 2024 | $5,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| CAMPAIGN FOR A HEALTHY NEBRASKA | PAC-Independent | NE | 2024 | $2,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
Spending by category
| Advertising, media & mail | $17.93M |
| Petition circulation | $2.54M |
| Polling & research | $735,946 |
| Legal, compliance & accounting | $534,251 |
| Staff & payroll | $494,859 |
| Consulting | $269,833 |
| Other / not itemized by purpose | $261,314 |
| Contributions to other committees | $50,760 |
| Office, data & supplies | $31,281 |
| Fees & processing | $15,249 |
| Travel & events | $3,662 |
Categories are assigned from each expenditure's reported description/purpose by keyword; in-kind contributions received are reported by NADC as expenditures too.
† name also appears as a recipient or filer in the IRS 990 grant data loaded for the Funder networks page (organization-name match, not an identifier match).